Introducing SoundLink Max Speaker. Epic stereo sound and deep bass turn good times to the max, letting you feel the music from your head to your toes. And with its compact design and removable handle, you can take the party anywhere you are.
Epic stereo sound
Deep bass
Grab-and-go portability
Plays up to 20 hours¹
Charge phone while you listen
Built to handle some bruising
Bose app control
SimpleSync compatibility
New Product

Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker

4.6 out of 5 Customer Rating
$399.00
color Black
  • Only a few left!

Order now for delivery as soon as Thursday, July 18 to

Benefits of buying direct from Bose
90-day risk-free trial
Price match promise
Complimentary shipping & returns
Pay later with   or Afterpay
Introducing SoundLink Max Speaker. Epic stereo sound and deep bass turn good times to the max, letting you feel the music from your head to your toes. And with its compact design and removable handle, you can take the party anywhere you are.
Epic stereo sound
Deep bass
Grab-and-go portability
Plays up to 20 hours¹
Charge phone while you listen
Built to handle some bruising
Bose app control
SimpleSync compatibility
product-image
Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker
color Black
  • Only a few left!
$399.00

Product details

box content
What’s in the Box
  • Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker
  • USB-C (C to C) cable
  • USB-C power supply (US only. Not available in all regions)
  • Safety sheet
Microphones No Microphone
Sound Options Stereo, SimpleSync, Full Range Speakers
Audio cable included No
Water Resistant IP67
Speaker 4.73" H x 10.42" W x 4.13" D (4.900 lb)
Product Material Aluminum, Fabric, Nylon, Plastic, Silicone, Steel
Battery Life 20 hours
Battery Charge Time 5 hours
Charging Interface(s) USB-C In/Out
Bluetooth Version 5.4
Bluetooth Range 30ft
Bose App Bose Music App

SoundLink Max is IP67 rated, indicating it has passed rigorous testing conditions proving it will withstand an accidental drop into water up to approximately 3 feet (1 meter) deep for up to 30 minutes, or getting exposed to a dust storm. However, while SoundLink Max is protected against accidental exposures to water and dust, is not designed for playback when wet. All of SoundLink Max’s components, including the USB-C charging and AUX ports, transducers, and passive radiators, are built with rugged, waterproof materials. These components are sealed tightly in the speaker’s housing, keeping out water and dust.

Yes, but it is not designed to be used while floating and will orient with the front grille submerged. SoundLink Max is designed to withstand accidental drops in water for up to 30 minutes and remain buoyant for easy retrieval. If SoundLink Max is directly exposed to salt or chlorinated water, rinse with fresh water and allow to dry thoroughly before use.

Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker features Snapdragon Sound technology. Snapdragon Sound optimizes Qualcomm® audio technologies across connected devices to ensure the best sound quality, connection stability, and latency for your streaming audio. To experience Snapdragon Sound, you need a Snapdragon Sound-certified device, such as a compatible Android device. Once you connect the speaker, your device will automatically stream audio using the aptX Adaptive Bluetooth codec. NOTE: To see which Snapdragon Sound features the speaker supports and check if your device is compatible, visit the SoundLink Max support page.

Google Fast Pair is a technology developed by Google that automatically detects and pairs with your Android phone in a single tap. Android users (OS 6.0 or newer) will enjoy the rapid setup Google Fast Pair has to offer by simply turning on their SoundLink Max and selecting the Google pair pop-up on their Android device (Android device location services and Bluetooth must be set to “on”).

No. There are no microphones in the SoundLink Max.

Yes. Using Bose SimpleSync technology, you can connect to your SoundLink Max from a SimpleSync-enabled Bose smart soundbar or Bose smart speaker to extend the reach of your listening to other places in the vicinity, such as an adjacent room. Use the Bose app to use SimpleSync.

Shortcuts are managed through the Bose app. Shortcuts allow you to configure settings for the programmable shortcut button on SoundLink Max. When your SoundLink Max is new, the factory default shortcut is set to auxiliary switching, allowing you to use the button to switch between a paired Bluetooth device or a wired connection from a different source.

Multi-point connectivity is a Bluetooth technology that allows your SoundLink Max to maintain a connection to two paired source devices at the same time. Your speaker will seamlessly transition between the two devices so you’re always connected to the active source device.

 

Bose SoundLink Max supports Bluetooth profiles A2DP, AVRCP, SPP, iAP, and BLE.

SoundLink Max can have up to 6 devices paired in its memory. To clear the paired devices list, turn on the speaker and press and hold the Bluetooth button for 15 seconds.

Download your product’s app now

Available on Google Play and the Apple Store

Owner's guide
Quick start guide

Sound that pops it off

This small, portable Bluetooth® speaker has epic stereo sound that starts the party. People hear the music and feel it from head to toe.
People dancing at a party
Person carrying a Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker

Big stereo sound

Made for sound lovers to play their favorite tunes. When the music fills the room, people feel it all around.

Bass that hits deep

The speaker has deep bass that hits your core and inspires you to put your best moves on the floor.

Young people dancing at a party with a Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker playing music

“As long as you have bass, that’s what gets the party going. That’s what this speaker has.”

– John Summit

Start the party whenever, wherever.


Whether you’re headed to a birthday rager or a chill outdoor hang, this boombox speaker can roll with you. The vibe goes where you are.

Bring the vibe with ease


Its size means you can bring the fun anywhere, while the removable handle and optional strap let you deliver the vibes stress-free. Just show up, press play, and let the music do the rest. Additional handle colors and carrying strap sold separately.

Woman carrying a Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker with the carry handle outside

Convenience meets comfort

Comfy rope design with unique texture makes carrying the party in your hand light work.

Alt text: Person walking outside carrying a Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker with the shoulder strap

Convenience meets style

A stylish optional strap means you can throw the party over your shoulder.

Power to keep the party going


With up to 20 hours of battery life,¹ you don’t have to stop the music. Keep the good times rolling from day to night.

Young people walking across a field listening to a Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker

Built for the unexpected

Water and dust-proof features mean your music can still play through spills and outdoor elements.

Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker on grass against a rock
Back of the Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker showing the USB-C port and the AUX jack

Charge your phone while listening

When your phone battery starts running low, plug-in to the USB-C port to charge up. If the Bluetooth boombox has power, your phone stays on — and so does the music.

Take control with the Bose app. Your music, your way.

Use the Bose app to maximize and personalize your sound experience:

  • Adjustable EQ settings: Control bass, mid-range, and treble levels on the go
  • Latest software updates: Ensure optimal functionality and get access to all the latest features and cutting-edge tech
  • Tips & tricks: Delivered to your fingertips and designed to harness the power of sound to the fullest

Available on the App Store and Google Play

Person using the Bose app with their Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker

Features

Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker
  • Epic sound
    Stereo sound and deep bass let you feel the music in your body, and all around you.
  • Versatile portability
    A compact design with grab-and-go handle crafted with a unique soft-textured rope makes the speaker easy to carry to any party.
  • Battery life that keeps the party going
    Extraordinary power keeps the music going for up to 20 hours so you can listen all day and night.
  • Built to play through whatever
    Water and dust-proof features with a IP67 rating mean party spills and outdoor elements won’t stop the music.
  • Power up while listening
    Charge your phone by connecting it to the USB-C® port to power up from the speaker’s built-in battery.

Why buy from Bose

Bose SoundLink Max Portable Speaker at a party

The ultimate party speaker

Dive into multi-sensory experiences with visual demos, stories, and more.

1Using Bluetooth A2DP audio at 65% volume and between 68° F – 77° F (20° C – 25° C), with default EQ using a mix of Top 50 Global tracks as of October 2023 and no charging of external devices. Battery performance varies with individual user conditions such as audio content, loudness, and environmental temperature.

Ratings and Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I love pretty much everything in the Bose line. This speaker is no exception. It sounds great and it's the only speaker me or my friends want to listen to while we're outside hanging out. Or doing pretty much anything.
Date published: 2024-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound I’ve had the SoundLink max a couple weeks now and I’m very happy with it. Sound is great especially the bass for its size. Battery life is impressive and overall quality of the speaker seems good. Best portable speaker I’ve had yet.
Date published: 2024-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bass response and clarity of the highs. Bought this for my son on his birthday. It sounds amazing. And looks good too.
Date published: 2024-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the base. Absolutely love it speaker! Best investment from Bose so far.
Date published: 2024-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable Great speaker. Long battery life. So far so good.
Date published: 2024-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound little package I bought this a couple weeks ago and I love it great sound and battery life is pretty good even with full blast
Date published: 2024-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bass Bought a month ago and it’s the best portable speaker I’ve used. Bass is insane
Date published: 2024-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional sound! It’s excellent, some tunes it’s almost like being at a live concert 🎵 with the artist, the sound is that good! The bass is brilliant.😊😁😎
Date published: 2024-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the equalizer app . Makes it easy to adcustom I had a Bluetooth speaker by a different manufacturer,it wasn't bad for what I paid for it, but, I didn't know how much music I was missing till , I got my new Bose sound link max. Really makes a difference . Like, love and live it . It's a Bose.
Date published: 2024-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound I lifted it to myself for my birthday. Best gift since my Wave. Awesome sound great battery life.
Date published: 2024-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Crafted This is the best Bose portable speaker I have ever heard . Thank you
Date published: 2024-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Portable Speaker What is not to love about the new Bose Soundlink Max Portable Speaker. I have been using it for about a month now and it has exceeded my expectations. As a long time Bose user, the soundlink max portable speaker has the best sound for a product of its size. The sound is very balanced with an absolutely incredible bass. I love the way you can also customize the sound using the app. I have used the speaker outdoors and indoors and no matter where you are it sounds amazing. I appreciate the portable design and the attached handle. It has a bit of weight to it but not too heavy to travel around with you. It was a big hit at a Memorial Day party with anyone being about to connect and play the music that they would like. The battery life for the speaker is very long. I barely have to charge it with the battery probably lasting over 20 hours each time it is fully charged. My favorite feature is that you can use a USB-C to charge your phone! I am sometimes guilty of forgetting to charge my phone 100% and I have found this feature so handy when playing music. Bose never disappoints with the quality and reliability of the products they offer as well as the customer service that is always provided. 10/10 would recommend to anyone to buy. It is worth every penny and I know it will last for years to come!
Date published: 2024-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Soundlink Max: Creating A New Standard! I upgraded from the Revolve+ II Soundlink to the Soundlink Max and I love it! First of all, it's gorgeous! I got the blue one, Secondly, (and most importantly), this little box punches so high above its weight class, that I call it the "Bruce Lee" of portable speakers. It's so good, I am a musician, producer, mastering engineer, so I have heard a lot of different speakers over the years. The is the best speaker in its class. Period! Go get it! Now!
Date published: 2024-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product,its full of base,best quality for me
Date published: 2024-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Changer. This speaker is so beyond remarkable. I had high hopes for this product and it completely exceeded my expectations. The sound quality is so pure. Crisp clean Treble, vibrant mids, and the bass is deep and super rich. No matter what kind of music you are blasting this speaker will enhance your listening experience for sure. 10/10 would recommend.
Date published: 2024-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HiFi Sound I purchased this 3 weeks ago with a doubt about what to expect at such small portable speaker’s claimed performance at almost $400 price tag. Yes, Bose did not disappoint. The sound is the best you can get on a bluetooth speaker so far at this price point. Excellent clarity and midrange, the base is very good in proportion to the speaker’s footprint. On the downside, at this speakers price, I wish Bose included the capability for stereo mode right out of the box. Secondly, it should have supported WiFi AirPlay playback. Overall, this portable speaker will not disappoint even those with audiophile caliber ears!
Date published: 2024-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big sound, small package. This speaker has far surpassed my expectations. I have two JBL speakers that are roughly the same size as this speaker. I will not be using those speakers anymore after using this one. The amount of sound that comes from this speaker is astounding. And it’s not only loud, but a balanced sound from lows to highs. As a professional musician, I appreciate being able to hear the full spectrum of sounds. This speaker is fantastic and I use it daily. Bose is the way to go.
Date published: 2024-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing speaker The speaker has so much power and bass in such a small frame. The sound is extremely crisp like all my other Bose products. The carrying handle is very comfortable to hold and the design itself feels very premium. The material does seem to attract dust/pet hair but it gives a better durability and scratch protection.
Date published: 2024-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Very glad I bought it. I’ve finally got the chance to use this speaker during our annual golf trip. I’m impressed! This speaker replaced a Bose Soundlink III. It filled the combination living/dining/kitchen at half volume. The biggest difference is being able to use the Bose App to change bass and treble, and being able to see how much battery is left (it even announces the battery life left when you power it up). Expensive but worth every penny. It’s much heavier than expected- not a bad thing though-just the quality.
Date published: 2024-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Sound, Compact, Charges your phone too! Loud! Sounds great! Lots of base! Smooth devise connections, 2 at once. Swapping between devices is smooth too. Long battery life and don’t forget you can charge your phone with it also.
Date published: 2024-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing speaker! This speaker is pretty amazing! We were blown away by its HUGE sound. You definitely get what you pay for with this Bose. So happy with our purchase!
Date published: 2024-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from base controlled. bought this product a month ago, and I was amazed of the balanced and powerful sound.
Date published: 2024-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sound is amazing I bought this for my mother. She loves her new toy
Date published: 2024-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this speaker about a month ago and MAAAANNN! Issa THUMPER!! Money well spent👌🏽
Date published: 2024-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOUD I got this item a week ago for a family vacation to the beach, and this thing has been incredible for multiple other uses, for social gatherings, to organizations using it because of its power. And more than that, I’ve charged it once to 60% and after the trip it’s battery is at 20% there is not dying on this thing, and it charges quickly
Date published: 2024-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bose Does It Again! Bose does not let you down with their products. The old adage..,"you get what you pay for" always rings true with a Bose product. So why should The Soundlink Max be any different. Absolutely incredible lil boom box!
Date published: 2024-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for your next sound upgrade I have used the Bose SoundLink Max Portable outdoors multiple times now and I’m really impressed with the excellent clarity and quality of the sound. It’s a very powerful speaker! You can turn the volume up and you can still have high quality audio with excellent bass! Not only has a long lasting battery life, something that you definitely need when being outdoors but you can also charge your phone while using the speaker which comes in handy. Please be aware that this speaker is water and dust resistant not water proof, however, I still appreciate this feature. The Bose SoundLink Max Portable comes in two colors: black and blue dusk. I got the blue dusk which is a medium dark bright shade of sky blue which I totally loved, however, I would like to have more color options. I would buy it in a pink or white color for example. if you are looking for an upgrade, I definitely recommend you getting this speaker whether you are looking for a speaker for your next outdoor adventure, or if you just want to watch movies at home, this speaker will not disappoint and you will get the best value for your money.
Date published: 2024-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this speaker! I absolutely love this speaker. The sound it produces is precise and has great presence. Powerful bass, but not muddled and overdone. Great job, Bose! Great value if you prefer an unequaled listening experience
Date published: 2024-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decimated the highest rated one in PM I bought the best sounding one as rated by Popular Mechanics and this one blew it away immediately. Wow folks!
Date published: 2024-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound I have been purchasing Bose products for years. They never disappoint me when it comes to sound quality, reliability, value and customer service. Always happy with a Bose product and this portable speaker lives up to every thing I need and expected.
Date published: 2024-05-31
  • y_2024, m_7, d_12, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_SLMAX-SPEAKERWIRELESS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bose
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11ms
  • reviews, product