Introducing Ultra Open Earbuds. Their cuff-like fit leaves your ears totally open so you can still hear the world around you, while OpenAudio technology provides you with rich, private sound. Listen to your music and life — at the same time, all the time.
Open-ear design
Immersive Audio
Surprisingly private
All-day comfort
Auto volume
Up to 7.5 hours of play time¹
Simple, satisfying button controls.
IPX4 rating for water resistance
New Product

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
$299.00
color Black
  • Only a few left!

Order now for delivery as soon as Thursday, April 18 to

Benefits of buying direct from Bose
90-day risk-free trial
Free 2-day shipping and returns
1-year limited warranty
4 interest-free installments with   or Afterpay
Introducing Ultra Open Earbuds. Their cuff-like fit leaves your ears totally open so you can still hear the world around you, while OpenAudio technology provides you with rich, private sound. Listen to your music and life — at the same time, all the time.
Open-ear design
Immersive Audio
Surprisingly private
All-day comfort
Auto volume
Up to 7.5 hours of play time¹
Simple, satisfying button controls.
IPX4 rating for water resistance
product-image
Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
color Black
  • Only a few left!
$299.00

Pause for nothing. Hear everything.


A brilliant combination of innovative open ear design, incredible audio, and all-day comfort. You’ll never stop your music to hear the world again.

Simply astonishing sound


To the music lovers with a playlist for every mood and moment, meet your new obsession. Because you should never compromise on sound quality.

Immersive Audio

Bose Immersive Audio spatializes audio, creating the impression that the music you hear is being played in the room around you instead of through the earbuds you’re wearing.

Person wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Surprisingly private

The earbuds’ open-ear design says, “I can still hear you” while OpenAudio technology provides you with high-quality, private sounds.

Be in the music anywhere — everywhere.


Go all day. Do whatever your thing is. Ultra Open Earbuds bring you closer to your music. And keep you looking good.

Unmatched comfort, unbeatable stability.

Flexible joint. Light-as-air grip. Because they wrap around your ears instead of fitting inside them, they’re incredibly comfortable and super stable. Get your run on, run your errands — they’ll hug your ears all day.

Person wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

“They stay in/on my ears, and they're so comfortable that I honestly forget I'm wearing them.”

- JEM

“This type of audio listening experience is honestly one of my favorites, especially when you are living an active on the go lifestyle.”

- Soundman

Woman wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Press, play, enjoy.

Simple, satisfying button controls make it easy to switch between stereo and immersive modes. Doesn’t matter if you’re getting ready or getting groceries — Auto Volume works like magic to keep your music audible even as the volume of your surroundings change.²

Features

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds in their charging case
  • Immersive Audio
    Spatialized sound puts you in the music.
  • OpenAudio technology
    Rich, high-quality, private sound.
  • SimpleSync
    Pair seamlessly with Bose smart soundbars and speakers.
  • Go ahead, listen longer.
    Up to 7.5 hours of play time (up to 4.5 hours with Immersive Audio)¹ or up to 48 hours of standby,³ and up to an extra 19.5 hours of battery life in the charging case.⁴
  • Bose Music app
    Take personalization even further with Adjustable EQ settings in the Bose Music app. Control bass, mid-range, and treble levels as you go.

Product details

box content
What’s in the Box
  • 2 Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
  • Charging case
  • USB-C® (A to C) cable (12")
  • Safety sheet
Headphone Fit Open Ear
Microphones Built-in Microphone
Noise Cancelling No
Water Resistant IPX4
Case Charging, Protection
Bud Single 0.73" H x 0.67" W x 1.07" D (0.0140 lb)
Case 1.65" H x 2.56" W x 1.04" D (0.0966 lb)
Product Material Plastic (PC-ABS), Metal, Silicone, Gold Plating
Product Case Material Plastic (Hard)
Rechargeable Yes
Battery Life 7.5 hours
Battery Charge Time 1 hour
Charging Accessory included Yes
Charging Interface(s) USB C PORT
Wireless Connectivity A2DP Bluetooth Audio Streaming, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, HFP Bluetooth, Wireless Connectivity, AAC Bluetooth, SBC Bluetooth
Bluetooth Version 5.3
Bluetooth Range 30 feet
Bose App Bose Music App

The Bose Ultra Open Earbuds are a totally new kind of audio wearable device: premium sound built into a cuff-shaped earbud that doesn’t cover your ear. Proprietary Bose OpenAudio technology allows the earbuds to play rich, immersive audio privately even though the speakers on the earbuds sit a short distance from your ear canal, leaving you open to the sounds of your surroundings. The cuffs hook around the outside of your ear so gently that you might forget they’re even there, so you can leave them on all day, always ready for music, calls, or videos.

The Open Earbuds were designed from the ground up to give you a soundtrack for your life: to let you enjoy your music without blocking your ears, in a shape so comfortable you can almost forget you’re wearing any earbuds at all. The engineering of these earbuds was a matter of squeezing Bose OpenAudio technology — which projects deep, rich sound across a short distance of open space to your ear canal — into a shape that could grip your ear extremely gently, leave your ear open to outside sounds, and contain a long-lasting battery. This design process resulted in the Open Earbuds’ unique shape, inspired by ear cuff jewelry. The light-as-air flex arm connects the audio portion of the earbud to a battery barrel that goes behind your ear, providing just enough grip to keep the earbuds secure on any size ear.

Yes. The Open Earbuds are excellent for exercise, thanks to their confident stability on your ear, powerful sound, and open design. Bose’s unique OpenAudio technology allows air to keep your ears cool and dry while you enjoy both your music and sounds from your environment, such as city sounds, nature, input from a coach or workout partner, or sounds that help you play a sport such as tennis or basketball.

Yes. The combination of skin-safe materials, a fully open design, long battery life, and unparalleled comfort means you can leave the earbuds on all day, always connected to your device and ready to produce rich audio the moment you need it.

In stereo mode, the earbud batteries will provide up to 7.5 hours of play time or 48 hours of standby time (no audio playing). For all-day wear that involves a mix of audio listening and standby, the battery life will vary depending on the proportion of each. For example, 5 hours of audio would leave 10 hours of standby life remaining. And if the battery does run out, a quick 10-minute charge in the case will add up to 2 hours of play time.

Yes. You can slide the earbud slightly up or down the outside of your ear to adjust for comfort, preferred sound balance, looks, or to avoid interference with jewelry. 

Yes. The Open Earbuds are uniquely designed to attach to a part of the ear that does not interfere with most glasses, hats, and piercings. If your accessories touch the product, that’s no problem as long as the earbuds remain comfortable and secure. The magnets that help the earbuds attach to their charging case may occasionally stick slightly to jewelry made of ferromagnetic metals like nickel; this is not damaging to the earbuds or the jewelry, but if bothersome can be avoided by slightly sliding the earbud up or down the ear, away from the jewelry.

OpenAudio is a proprietary Bose technology that allows audio played a short distance from your ear canal to be rich, deep, and private — without sealing your ear. Each earbud uses a tiny dipole transducer system engineered for loud-and-clear personal audio that stays at the ear — instead of going everywhere else.

It’s easy to hear the difference Bose OpenAudio makes by comparing the power of the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds with a traditional set of earbuds held slightly outside your ear. If you remove the traditional earbud from your ear canal and hold it near your ear at the same distance that the Open Earbuds sit, you’ll notice the much greater volume and richer bass from the Open Earbuds.

Bose OpenAudio directs rich, deep audio into the ear canal while using proprietary technology to minimize sound spillage in other directions. In most environments and at most listening levels, people around you won’t hear a thing. If you turn up the volume all the way in a very quiet environment, others may hear that something is playing from your earbuds, but they won’t be able to hear any detail unless they get very close.

No. By design, the Open Earbuds don’t block out the world or have noise cancelling, so you can enjoy your music while staying open to the sounds of the world around you. They do have an automatic volume control feature, available in the Bose Music app, that helps you hear your music evenly as your environment changes from quiet to loud and back. 

Bluetooth multipoint, a feature that will allow the Open Earbuds to connect to two source devices at the same time, will be available through a software update coming later this year. Be sure to set up your earbuds with the Bose Music app to receive software updates.

The Bose Music app also allows you to customize the shortcut function on each 
earbud’s button, and one of the available options is Switch Source. Setting a 
shortcut to Switch Source will enable you to switch between previously connected 
Bluetooth source devices with a press and hold of the earbud button without 
needing to take the earbuds off. 

Download your product’s app now

Available on Google Play and the Apple Store

Owner's guide

Why buy from Bose

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Dive into multi-sensory experiences with audio and visual demos, stories, and more.

¹ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 using production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds playing IEC 60268-1 pink noise using A2DP Bluetooth audio streaming at an RSSI of 75 dBm. Volume was set to a playback loudness of 75 dBA and 3-band EQ was set to zero. With Immersive Audio off, playback time was up to 7.5 hours before battery depletion. With Immersive Audio on, playback time was up to 4.5 hours before battery depletion. Battery life varies based on settings and usage.

² Available through the Bose Music app.

³ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 by removing fully charged production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds from a Bose Ultra Open Earbuds charging case, connecting to a phone with no content playing, and maintaining connection until earbud battery depletion.

⁴ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 by inserting production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds with battery depleted (to the point of no audio playback) into a fully charged Bose Ultra Open Earbuds charging case and charging earbuds to 100% (or until the case battery was depleted). Then, the earbuds played IEC 60268-1 pink noise using A2DP Bluetooth audio streaming at an RSSI of 75 dBm until battery depletion. Volume was set to a playback loudness of 75 dBA and 3-band EQ was set to zero. Testing repeated until the case battery was depleted. Additional earbud playback time added through case charging was 19.5 hours with Immersive Audio off and 12 hours with Immersive Audio on.

Ratings and Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I have a number of Bose products and am happy with them. I wanted these for exercise and just walking around town with the dog. They are excellent. They re so light and easy to control. They don’t fall off and I really hardly know they are even on my ears. These are just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2024-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I am using wireless. I have about a month. This fit feels great for me.
Date published: 2024-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Had these earbuds for a few weeks. Was a little skeptical because how they fit. But I love them. I didn’t like the idea of having something pushed inside my ears but these feel good. And the sound is awesome…as always with Bose.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What do you mean Review Title? Good product.I’m impressed with the sound quality.I’m not impressed with your review page.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds I love them! Several months ago I purchased the QuietComfort Earbuds, they were the most comfortable to date but, when out and about I could only wear one earbud at a time due to the effective noise cancelling. I did not want to buy a second pair so soon, but with the 90 day trial I gave it a try. I can now take my morning walk and listen to a book or podcast and still hear the birds sing. Bonus, I love it that they sit outside the ear canal, so much more comfortable. I don't usually write reviews but am so happy with the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds, that I wanted to share the good news,
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Bose product. I purchased these because I don’t like traditional ear buds that are lodged in the ear canal. Typical Bose sound with rich base and clarity of sound. Perfect for physical activity, the stay securely in place. I am able to interact with the world around me and hold conversations in the open air mode. Full immersion a simple touch of the ear bud transitions to full immersion for a complete Bose sound experience. Easy placement and removal. Very comfortable, when I am not playing music I have forgotten that I even had them on.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Open Earbuds I love the ultra open earbuds! I don’t like earbuds that plug into the ear canal, very uncomfortable. The Bose open earbuds don’t plug into the ear canal. So, they are much more comfortable, and I can listen to music for as long as I want without any discomfort. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous earbuds LOVE THEM!!! So comfortable i can wear them all day. Great sound. Easy to put on. Best yet.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Earbuds I bought them a month ago I love these earbuds, these are the first set I can keep in my ears.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and sound great I'll admit, I was curious but skeptical about "open ear" earbuds. But Bose has NAILED IT with the Ultra Open Earbuds. These things are a revelation for anyone who wants high-quality audio without completely isolating themselves. Here's why I love them: The sound is mind-blowing: These aren't your tinny, bass-less open earbuds. Bose delivers surprisingly rich, full sound that feels like magic trickery. Vocals are clear, instruments have depth – it's way better than expected. Surroundings stay audible: This is the whole point. The open design lets me enjoy my tunes while still hearing traffic around me when I'm running. Comfy as heck: I forget these are even in my ears. Way lighter than in-ear buds, with a soft, flexible hook that doesn't irritate. If you want the best music experience while keeping your ears open to the world, I don't think there's a better option. Lit bit pricey? Yes, but worth every penny for me.
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind is blown away. I forget they are in Immersive sound is great 👍
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable!! I have never had the chance to try an open ear earbud before and it was definitely an interesting experience. The fit of the Bose open earbuds is so light and so comfortable you almost forget they are there. The sound quality is good for this type of earbud. I love how easy it is to switch modes at the push of a button. I had no issues using these earbuds while running or doing other gym activities. Battery life was really good. I was able to stream podcasts, take calls and listen to music for a few days before needing to charge the case. You do have to make sure the contacts on the earbud are placed properly in the case. Otherwise one will charge and the other may not. My one con is the Bose App. I often find it very laggy when switching my devices and sometimes it doesn’t connect properly. I hope they provide updates on this soon. Other than that when it functions, having the ability to customize sound is great and the app is fairly user friendly. I definitely would recommend this type of bud if your looking for something with great sound that won’t fall out of your ear when your active. I do wish that along with the immersion it had the same capabilities as the other Bose Ultra line but it’s not a deal breaker these are pretty amazing!
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable I have never had the chance to try an open ear earbud before and it was definitely an interesting experience. The fit of the Bose open earbuds is so light and so comfortable you almost forget they are there. The sound quality is good for this type of earbud. I love how easy it is to switch modes at the push of a button. I had no issues using these earbuds while running or doing other gym activities. Battery life was really good. I was able to stream podcasts, take calls and listen to music for a few days before needing to charge the case. You do have to make sure the contacts on the earbud are placed properly in the case. Otherwise one will charge and the other may not. My one con is the Bose App. I often find it very laggy when switching my devices and sometimes it doesn’t connect properly. I hope they provide updates on this soon. Other than that when it functions, having the ability to customize sound is great and the app is fairly user friendly. I definitely would recommend this type of bud if your looking for something with great sound that won’t fall out of your ear when your active. I do wish that along with the immersion it had the same capabilities as the other Bose Ultra line but it’s not a deal breaker these are pretty amazing!
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very secure These are better than any other earbuds I have. Great sound and yet can still carry on a conversation without having to remove them
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semper Fi I bought these earbuds 2 weeks ago via ID.me. I have been wanting to have a pair of earbuds to workout and playgolf. I pulled the trigger and so glad I did! This was an excellent purchase as they are comfortable, exceptional sound quality and a very long lasting battery. I love the design and technology features, they stay on no matter the workout situation. I practice at the range and go out an play a round and they stay on without adjusting around my ear. I would recommend these earbuds to anyone looking to find a great if not best earbuds in the current market!
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Amazing Sound I LOVE these! The sound is amazing and they are so comfortable. I originally had Apple air pod pros that I was allergic to the metal. So these are perfect.
Date published: 2024-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great earbuds! I got these about two weeks ago and love them. They're great when you want full stereo sound and still be able to hear the surroundings, like walking out in the street or just sitting at the office. you can still hear someone call your name and also get the awesome quality sound that Bose is known for.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound is great I bought these about a month ago and I love them. I have very small ears and only buds that come over the ear will stay in until now. You don’t even realize you have anything on your ears. Hooks up easily to iPhone and the sound is awesome!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Like it like that I love these! You can hear what’s happening around you and your music at the same time. They are lightweight and you almost forget you have them on. The sound is what I’ve come to expect from Bose.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! love these earbuds! Only still getting used to the fact that it does not go into the ear cavity, it sits outside of it, but I'm blown away at the quality of sound it has! like I said, LOVE THEM!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing sound quality Love these so far. I cannot use in-ear buds as they dont stay in. These are the only earbuds I've found that stay on my ear, lightweight and comfortable. I was shocked with the sound quality. Good battery life as I've used them about a dozen times and still full.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful earbuds Very comfortable and great sounding earbuds…also the set up and care is easy to follow!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Holding Power I have been thoroughly impressed with the durability and secure fit of these earbuds. Unlike other brands I've tried, these earbuds stay comfortably in my ears without constantly falling out, even during active movement. The sound quality is fantastic, delivering crisp highs and deep bass for an immersive listening experience. The sleek design and long battery life make these earbuds stand out for anyone needing reliable and high-performing audio accessories. I highly recommend them!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The next step in evolution - I have had a had time with headphones, buds, plugs, etc. I can't keep them in my ears for too long. I really enjoyed Samsung's Bud Pro (Live) when they were available, because they were not entering the ear. But Bose Ultra Open Earbuds are what appear to be a natural evolution in the tech! I love it. I don't have to take them off if someone is talking to me, I don't have fatigue of them in my ears (can have them on all day and wouldn't even notice) and the sound is good. The sound quality might not be on par with other products but what this tech does, its a market on its own! The sound quality is great - don't get me wrong but at higher volumes it does decrease a bit of quality. But this product is GAME CHANGING.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great just great I have more than 20 ear buds. These ultra buds crush them all. They pair quickly and the large button makes them easy to use. I can wear the ultra all day they are incredibly comfortable and I never have to adjust them in my ear. Well worth the money. The sound is what I expect of a Bose product, perfect.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immerse in Sound Without Blocking Out the World I'm genuinely thrilled with my new Bose Open Ear buds. They comfortably grip the ear, making it possible to engage in a variety of activities like running, jumping, sleeping, or even headbanging without them falling off. Yes, I've tested all of these actions, and you can see the proof in my video. What sets these earbuds apart is their ability to let you stay connected to the world around you. They don’t isolate you like other headphones might; instead, they keep you aware and in tune with your surroundings. Bose has ingeniously integrated a technology that offers an immersive sound experience, akin to being in a 3D setting, yet without shutting out external noises. This feature is a game-changer for people like me who need to be alert to their environment. Whether you're a parent listening out for your children, someone in an office waiting for calls or questions, or anyone who relies on hearing ambient sounds for orientation, mobility, or safety—like navigating city streets—these earbuds excel. They even allow you to stay connected to your phone or enjoy your favorite TV show without missing a beat. Wearing them feels almost like wearing nothing at all. I've worn them to sleep on multiple occasions, and unlike other earbuds, they don't cause discomfort or press into the ears. The sound quality is exceptional, ensuring privacy unless someone is very close to you, and even then, only at maximum volume. I wholeheartedly recommend these earbuds.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feather weight earbuds with heavy weight sound I have owned a lot of headphones and earbuds in my life. Bose has always been my favorite providing premium sound quality, great battery life and flexible portability. I was very excited to try the New Bose Ultra Open Earbuds as all of my most recent purchases lacked a comfortable stable fit. I have tiny inner ears and even with changing out the earbud sleeves for the 'small' size no earbuds on the market fit comfortably or are stable enough to use while moving around. The UPS man laughed at me meeting him in the driveway, anxious to give these new guys a spin. I was able to use them right out of the box as they came pre-charged. I did struggle a little bit getting them attached and set up to my cellphone as the interface is different from what I have used for other devices. Not hard just different. The earbuds come with a palm sized hard charging case and cable for connection to a USB device for charging. Like most re-chargeable devices these days it did not come with a plug device to use to actually charge it. Not a problem in todays world as we all own USB plugs for other devices that work just fine and it keeps the cost down and is more sustainable to not duplicate unnecessary electronics to lug around. The case itself holds an extra charge that allows you to recharge your earbuds while on the go without having to stop and find a plug which is very nice. So far I find it has excellent battery life only needing to charge every few days. The earbuds have a unique system to pop the earbuds into the case. They kind of just sit on top with a magnetic attachment. They are labeled L & R to help you know which ear and which side to place the earbuds. I love the unique clip design. The 2 pieces are connected by a flexible rubber joint. The Micro speakers sit in your ear providing premium immersive sound while still allowing you to be aware of the world around you. I use them at work, at home and on the go so I need to be able to respond when needed. They do feature Immersive Audio for music spatialization and head-tracking. The other part of the earbud is the barrel with the electronic controls. The barrels use a tap, double tap and hold system to execute various controls that are a bit tricky and I am still learning. But I have to say overall I am thrilled with the excellent sound and how lite weight they are to wear. I forget they are in my ears. They clip on comfortably without any pinch and sit very stable even when moving around.
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound experience. I received my ear buds about two weeks ago and I am very pleased with the sound quality. It’s a completely new experience to hear quality sound and be able to hear my surroundings at the same time. I’m very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for running when you need awareneness I’ve owned probably close to 40 different Bluetooth headphones/earbuds throughout the years, but this one definitely is in the top 3. The ear lobe placement is actually extremely comfortable, although it took a little while for me to get used to it. These earbuds get fairly loud but because they’re not located in your ear canal, it’s actually perfect. I do a lot of public running and exercising and need to be able to hear my surroundings. This unit allows me to enjoy my music and still be aware of everything around me. The battery life is good leaving me with zero complaints and the Bluetooth connection is extremely strong and I connected easily 30 feet away from my phone. I realize this design is a little different for some people, but if you keep an open mind, I promise it will surprise you. Definitely the wave of the future because I’ve never liked earbuds that go in the ear canal as it quickly starts to hurt me. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2024-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra good Very good quality, just what I need to stay on my ear!
Date published: 2024-03-25
  • y_2024, m_4, d_12, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_ULT-HEADPHONEOPN, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bose
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • reviews, product